Acne problems on your body and scalp

I totally hate acne. They grow everywhere! And I really do mean everywhere – places where you least expect it to grow, like on scalp, under the arm, on the butt check, and you can (cough) move further down. I hate it even more because I am not sure if I could apply the pimple cream for my face on those parts.

If you can relate to my woes, here are some great information and tips from Beauty Match on acnes that invade into your other body parts.

The two main kinds of acne identified are: Genital acne and scalp acne

Gential acne

what is it?

It is a medical condition known as Hidradenitis Suppurativa which involves aprocine glands that are located in groin area, under the arms and the nipple.

what causes it?

These glands would be blocked by perspiration, thus hindering their development and forcing the particles to be trapped into the tissue. When this occurs, a painful infection and inflammation surrounding the area of infection that sometimes causes lesions (tissues that are damaged) to appear on the surface of the skin.

Besides perspiration, clothing that is tight and constantly rubbing against the skin would also cause irritations to the skin. The type of laundry detergent used might also have a contributing factor to the problem.

the cure! (may there is no cure)

See a doctor because lesions can be symptom of a sexually transmitted disease such as genital herpes or warts. If the lesions have a discharge or are painful, you may need to take antibiotics to reduce the infection. Meanwhile, switch to wearing clothing that are less tight, and cleanse the affected areas with mild soap.

(Updated on 17 September 2008) One of my readers, Angela, was very nice in pointing out to me that there is no cure for this problem. She also recommended the Hidradenitis Suppurativa Foundation’s website where there are more information about this problem.

Well, I guess, if you have such problem, see your doctor to determine the problem. That’s the best policy.

Scalp acne

what is it?

It commonly breaks out on your scalp which is knowns as scalp folliculitis. It is very itchy and the pustules are small, crustly, and sore.

what causes it?

Usually triggered during stress times (another reason to blamn school). It also develops whenever the scalp is oilier than usual, when hair is washed less regularly and the hair product has too much oil content.

the cure!

Keep the affected area clean with product that contains salicylic acid, which dries up the and reduce the infected area.

Check the labels! Use shampoo that is formulated for oily hair and scalp.

Important warning: Do not apply products containing benzoyl peroxide, which changes color of hair and create bad hair.

16 Responses to Acne problems on your body and scalp

  1. Karen says:

    I haven’t really checked this out but I understand from a sales staff that peppermint shampoo can also help control oily scalp! 🙂

  2. amsiewong says:

    Oh my goodness, I’m just going to thank God in advance that these things will not happen to me, to us! 🙂

  3. Hi,
    I like the way you write ..Its really different and interesting … keep the momentum going ..I hope tis will really going to help me in future..
    brilliant.

  4. Ng Yi Lian says:

    I’m impressed by the range of information you have! You can take over my job now!

  5. bodytreats says:

    karen: Thanks. Peppermint is known to clarify, cleanse, and stimulate. I hope it works, will try it out.

    amsie: I thank God that you are free from these problems too! 🙂

    exercise regimes: Thanks! I am glad you like it.

    Yi Lian: I found my info through many sources and compiled them for our fellow beauty/wellness lovers. And, please, you are the expert, alright. Do share with me on tips that are useful! Thanks babe! 🙂

  6. […] and warn all the female counterparts. Not to scare everyone off, there are also mild cases like genital acne problem or yeast infection. But, that is disturbing […]

  7. Acne.com – Acne Treatment Information…

    Acne red marks and scars can be unsightly on the face and body, especially if you are female. The good news is that there are many acne solutions available to limit the outbreak or completely rid yourself of acne for good….

  8. Angela says:

    Very nice writing, and article, but you have some basic facts about Hidradenitis Suppurativa. And as a sufferer of this debilitating disease, I resent the fact that you are spreading misinformation about it.

    HS is NOT a symptom of genital herpes or warts. There is NOT a cure. Doctors don’t know for sure what causes it, nor how to treat it….although they will throw a variety of medicines at it trying to make it better. From the way I read the article you seem to have this….but perhaps you have something else as well.

    HS is only superficially like acne. The lesions are much larger, and much more painful. Often they are not infected with bacteria. Mine never are.

    I strongly recommend you take a look at this site before talking about HS. It has a lot of great information and addresses a lot of the misinformation out there.

    http://www.hs-foundation.org/

    This is quoted from their site.

    “HS is a common, painful, debilitating, and chronic inflammatory skin disease affecting 1% of the global population, primarily occurring in inverse areas of the skin, e.g. axillae and groin. HS variably presents clinically with painful and chronically recurring, deep-seated follicular nodules, papules, pustules and abscesses, leading to suppuration, fibrosis, distortion, degradation and hypertrophic scarring of the skin. The etiology/pathogenesis/cause of HS is not known. HS remains a distinct and separate disease. In the past, direct comparisons of HS to sweat gland and acne diseases have delayed the planning and development of focused HS research which could discover the actual cause.”

  9. bodytreats says:

    Hi Angela
    Thank you very much for the information. I am glad you wrote to me and clarified the information. I will make a note on my blog now. Thanks again Angela, and take care. 🙂

  10. Raffaella says:

    Thank’s for sharing: i suffer from scalp acne and your information are very useful!

  11. bodytreats says:

    Hi Raffaella, thanks for dropping by and I am glad that the information was useful to you. 🙂

  12. Another great acne article! I always like read your blog about acne so I always come back for more.

  13. Adrian says:

    Hiya … I found this oage by mistake. I was searching in Bing for Antivirus software that I had already purchased when I came upon your site, I must say your page is really informative, I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time at the moment to fully read your site but I bookmarked it and also will sign up for your RSS feed. I’ll back in a day or two. Thanks again for a cool site.

  14. Vernon Cron says:

    hey!,I like yourpost so much! share we chat more about your weblog on MSN? Looking forward to see you.

  15. I am glad you said that =D

    Marguerite

  16. otis1957 says:

    I hope to find more positive information later keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

