Pretty Pretty nail service review

This is my first beauty service review on manicure and pedicure service in Singapore. I visited Pretty Pretty Makeover Pte Ltd this afternoon.

I first read about Pretty Pretty on Simply Her magazine’s March 2008 issue. The review was positive and I was attempted to try their service. Since I will be attending two weddings this weekend, the occasions call for some nail grooming. 🙂

Last night, I called to make an appointment. I was surprised to hear a man’s voice. He was polite and answered all my queries on prices of various services. He even asked if this would be my first visit, because all first-time customers at Pretty Pretty would enjoy a special rate of $58 for a classic manicure and pedicure package (which is what I am asking for!).

The next morning, I received a call from Pretty Pretty confirming my appointment. Though it is quite impossible for me to forgot about my appointment (since I made it last night), the call was still a good reminder.

The shop is tucked in one corner of Eastpoint Mall (located next to Simei MRT). I took some time to find my way there.

I was warmly welcomed at the entrance by a man – I guess he would be the one who I spoken to last night. He was smartly dressed in business shirt and pants.

I was directed straight into the waiting area which is gorgeously done up with frills-curtains, comfy arm chairs and nice thick carpet (see pictures below). This is a very comfortable waiting area where customers would also wait to dry their nails.

collage.jpg

As I sat down, the man asked if I would like some drinks, he asked if I would like Earl Grey tea or water. I love Earl Grey – this service totally delighted me.  

My manicurist was still serving another customer, thus I waited for about 10 minutes while she cleans up and set up new set of tools for my session. Meanwhile, the man topped up my tea for me, and constantly apologise for the wait.

Finally, my seat is ready. Nothing exceptional when she was filing and buffing my nails. However, as usual, when my manicurist, May, applied hand lotion on me, she started promoting products to me. She told me about my uneven skin tone and dry skin problems. Well, good thing is, she does not hard sell at all. I did not even have to decline the offer, I barely did not express any interest, and I think she got the cue.

Finally, I had to choose my nail color. May was very patient with me. I cannot decide, however, she was always patiently giving me recommendations. 

Guess what. Just as she was about to paint my nails, I asked to change into another color! We went through the process again, there was no change in her attiude. I was not being difficult, I just cannot decide, because the colors are all gorgeous.

May was extremely focused when she was applying my nail color. I hate it when my manicurist stop and chat with her fellow colleague. I want to have undivided attention from my manicurists. I mean, they can chat with me, but not gossip around with other colleagues. Anyway, May was so focused and quiet that I could close my eyes and almost fall asleep.

Guess what again. I decided to have get nail art done for my finger nails. Again, May was able to recommend a few designs for me to choose from. I added little pearls to my thumb nails and was delighted that they are so pretty to look at (see photos below). May also shared my joy and was also excited to see that the nail art turns out great.

nail-art.jpg

Finally, my nails makeover is completed. The service is so wonderful that I felt compelled to speak to the man to find out more about the business model. Finally, I can stop calling him “the man” – he is Kelvin, one of the owners.

I am surprised and amazed by their business philosophy. They are very particular about hygiene. They sterilize all tools that are used during the sessions. They do not reuse filer, buffer and toes dividers.  You can even bring them home after the service! Kelvin emphasize that customer’s safety issues in the nail hygiene aspect is their responsibility. Thus, Kelvin believes in providing this additional mileage to all customers.  

There is an additional bonus points for Pretty Pretty. They have three days service warranty for manicure and pedicure – if your nail color chipped, you can visit them for a quick touch up. Awesome. Absolutely awesome.

My overall review and final words:  

Ambience: 4/5 – there was no music playing in the shop – I think some soft relaxing music would be great.

Service: 5/5 – what else can I ask for?

Price: 5/5 – very valuable for money and you receive quality service and high level of hyigene

Quality: 5/5 – I love my nails – very well painted – totally smooth, no bubbles at all.

Hygiene: 5/5 – outstanding, amazing, exceptional – try find me another nail care place that is doing the same

Overall: 5/5 – I highly recommend Pretty Pretty. No doubt (for now, until someone else provides such excellency).

Where can you find Pretty Pretty?

Location: Eastpoint Mall (beside Simei MRT), #03-16B (take the escalator beside KFC)

Contact: 67898180

8 Responses to Pretty Pretty nail service review

  1. natanya says:

    lovely nails

  2. krisy says:

    OMG the nails are beautiful on this site … are they really this good in real life?

  3. krisy says:

    can you do shorter nails???? if not……why?

    thnxs

  4. bodytreats says:

    Hi Krisy! The nails are definitely real! Those are my own nails. 🙂

    Also, my nails are always short (hardly able to do nice french on my nails – you can imagine the length). I guess the rule of thumb when painting short nails is to pick lighter colours so that the length of your nails will not seemingly look as short. 🙂 have fun!

  5. YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

  6. Great post. I’ve been looking for this exact information for a while now. Bookmarked!

  7. hi there this is a very up to date and informative can i put a link on one of my blogs -regards Angela

  8. nail tattoos says:

    Good morning, I am searching for partners for our coming soon nail site, are you interested? 🙂

Leave a Reply

