How to survive coordinating two weddings in a row?

I almost did not survive the weekend. I was heavily involved in my buddy’s wedding on Saturday, and my another girlfriend’s wedding on Sunday. (I will post some of their gorgeous photos soon.)

For both weddings, I am their “jie-mei” (somewhat like bridesmaid in the American terms) during the day and emcee for the wedding banquet.

Well, thank God I survived and I even managed to wake up for my 0830hrs class the following day. To be honest, I am really, really tired and burnt out. I was in a daze and found it hard to concentrate during the morning class, and of course, the afternoon class.

Anyway, since I survived this wedding rush for two brides, I would share some little tips on how to survive. 🙂

Tip #1: Drink lots of water during the day

With Singapore’s humid weather, to avoid headache and sore throat, I have to drink lots of water to keep myself hydrated.

Tip #2: Prevent blister

We are all in our pretty heels and with so much walking for the whole day, it is definitely wiser to prevent blisters from developing than nursing them with lots of plasters. Protect your feet with anti-blister treatment using products like Foot Glide Anti-Blister Foot Formula. (See my post on blister saviour to find out more.)

Tip #3: Use conditioner to remove hair styling products

After numerous sprays of hair styling product, my hair become hard and stiff. To remove the hair styling product thoroughly, apply conditioner to the hair before shampooing. Massage the hair gently, rinse off then shampoo as usual.

Tip #4: Eat when it is time to eat

I often hear girls saying that they are not eating so that they can fit more nicely into their dresses. However, if you do not have enough energy for the event, fatigue will hit you fast and hard.

Tip #5: Keep warm – bring a nice dressy jacket along

Some hotel ballrooms have very strong air-conditioning, and there is no way you will enjoy the dinner if you are freezing throughout. Bring a nice looking dressy jacket to keep yourself warm. Even if you do not need it, you can lend it to a friend who needs it. 🙂

Tip #6: Maintain a light mood

There are times when there are delays, bad weather, noisy crowd etc. The only way to survive through all these is to maintain a happy and light mood. Afterall, it is a joyous occassion. Smile, cheers and be merry.

2 Responses to How to survive coordinating two weddings in a row?

  1. chiactivate says:

    You might want practice Qi Gong (Chinese meditation) before you go to a wedding next time. Make sure you find a quiet room. When you have mastered the Qi Gong skills, you only need 5 to 10 minutes meditation to quickly boost your energy. It really works.
    I have been practicing 4 years Qi Gong. It’s very helpful, especially when you are under high pressure.

  2. bodytreats says:

    Chiactivate: Thank you for dropping by. Your tips sound good. I will try it out. Thank you!

Leave a comment