The healthier-unhealthy food – Part 1

I have always thought that french fries is an unhealthy choice of snack, because it is deep-fried. However, if you compare french fries to potato chips, the former may likely give you less calories.

french-fries.jpg potato-chips.jpg (source: stockxpert)

Why is that so?

For the same serving size, french fries contain roughly half the fat and calories, and a bit more fibre, than potato chips. Due to its higher water content, fries also fill you up faster than chips.

Chips are easier to pop into the mouth so there is a high chance you will end up eating more chips than fries, even though the calorie content of the two are comparable.

Intrigued?

There are many more such comparisons, such as honey and maple syrup. For the next few days, I will be posting these various comparisons.

These information are found on Simply Her magazine, March 2008 issue. This is a great and useful information which allows us to choose wisely amongst the not-so-healthy food!

Catch me as I roll out these food fight among the unhealthy food!

5 Responses to The healthier-unhealthy food – Part 1

  1. Karen says:

    yea, i read this issue of Simply Her and for a moment, I felt that I had the perfect excuse to eat all those food!! But well, reality do sink in.. 😀

  2. brenyeo says:

    yay! i heart french fry!

  3. bodytreats says:

    Karen: I felt the same way too when I read it! Well, now at least we know which are the slightly “healthier – unhealthy” choice to make. 🙂

    bren: I love fries so much too. I am so glad it won over potato chips. However, I love chips too – just had one packet today.

  4. Shee says:

    This is a great website! I found it while googling about your pantyliner post!

    Anyway, I have to agree about the french fries vs potato crisps. I’d love to add one more information which in case people don’t know about it OR they actually know about it but they are trying hard to ignore about it.. the fact that Potato Crisps are very high in sodium (salty), thus dehydrates body more… that’s why we tend to eat more. Hmm, oh well.. something near that.

    I’m just sharing a little something here 🙂

    Warm regards.

Leave a Reply

