The healthier-unhealthy food – Part 6

In 10 days’ time, I will be leaving for Shanghai for my 16 weeks internship. I am beginning to miss Singapore’s local food, especially the hawker food.

 

Now, my love for hawker food brings my attention to today’s contestants – char kway teow and carrot cake.

 

(Source:boo_licious of Masak-masak blog)                                               

 

(Source: www.ourawesomeplanet.com)

 

As we know, both are fried with a lot of oil, and of course, they come with lots of calories and fat.

 

But here is what Simply Her has to say: “Gram for gram, char kway teow wins hands down – it has more protein and less fat, even if it’s slightly higher in carbohydrates.”

 

(Rejoice) I am pretty shocked with the verdict, however, because I love fried carrot cake, it is a dish that I can eat for breakfast, snack and supper.

 

Nonetheless, please refrain from eating char kway teow and carrot cake too frequently.  They are good for occasional treats.

Leave a Reply

