calcium mad-rush before i hit 30

August 17, 2008

My fall in China made me realized how bad my bone density condition is. I have extremely brittle bones, quoted by the doctor, my x-ray report is much like an 80 year-old lady’s report. I was not too pleased about it, in fact, I was pretty upset over my condition.

I have only five years to build my calcium level. It seems to be a mad-rush to me, because I begin popping calcium pills, drinking soya bean milk and eating a lot of tofu. I may be over reacting, but I am really worried about my condition. I am already 25, and technically, my calcium absorption rate is deteriorating, or rather has deteriorated.

The doctor warned me not to fall or hit anything hard, because my calcium built-up is so little that it could bearly protect my soft bones.

My joints hurt very much in whichever position that I sit or stand. I have to do a few stretches that are recommended by my therapist, however, the lazy me, tend to forget doing that.

Just a word of love to all of you, if you are not lactose-intolerant (like me), drink as much milk as you can, especially in your 20s. Also, no alcohol, coffee and tea, as they contain properties that slow down or deplete your calcium intake.

One pill a day, one cup of soya bean milk a day, one serving of tofu a day = my daily calcium in-take